Pasta with Butternut Squash Sauce

Pasta with butternut squash sauce, served with vegetarian sausage and peas

I planted my first vegetable garden this year, but most of the produce has been from things I didn’t really plant–volunteer tomatoes and butternut squash that grew from our compost. It’s been such a hot summer that some of the butternut squash is already ripe, so I’m trying to come up with things to do with it. Tonight I made a butternut squash sauce to put over pasta, and it turned out really tasty–even my picky toddler ate handfulls of it. I didn’t get any photos of the finished product, but the recipe (measurements estimated) is below.

 
1 medium onion
2 cloves of garlic
2 tbsp butter
1 medium butternut squash
1 tsp vegetable bullion paste
Fresh thyme
Fresh chives
Parmesan cheese
Dice the onion and garlic and sauté in the butter in a large pot until the onion is translucent. Peel the butternut squash, chop into 1-inch cubes, and remove the seeds. Add the squash to the pot, along with the teaspoon of bullion (I really like the Better than Bullion vegetable paste), and add just enough water to cover the squash. Add a few sprigs of fresh thyme and chop up a few stalks of chives, add them to the pot, and then cook on medium-high heat until the squash is soft enough to mash (about 15-20 minutes). Mash the squash, add grated Parmesan cheese to taste, and serve over small, cooked pasta (something like rotini). Enjoy!
**Edited September 6, 2012 to add photo**
3 comments

  1. I would love to see a picture of how this turned out. It sounds yummy!

    1. Hi Teresa. I just updated the post last night with a photo of the finished product (we’re still drowning in butternuts, so I made it again).

  2. Hey, thanks for the picture. It looks lovely. I’ll have to try this!

Leave a Reply

