Corn and spinach fritters

Corn and spinach fritters

This is my go-to quick dinner for my daughter when I want to make sure she gets something green in her diet (however hidden). I started making patties for her because they were easy for her to hold and feed herself. It’s not such an issue now that she’s getting better with utensils, but they are one of the only foods that she’ll eat consistently, so I keep making them. When I’m making them as dinner for adults, I serve them with this mint-yogurt sauce.

I usually just wing it, so the quantities listed below are estimated. This recipe makes about 10 fist-sized fritters.

1 and 1/4 cups corn meal
1/4 cup ground flax seed
1 cup frozen corn kernels
1/2 cup frozen chopped spinach
2 eggs
dash of cajun spice or other spice mix (I use Dinosaur Barbecue cajun spice)
enough milk to give the consistency of pancake batter

Whisk the ingredients together and fry over medium-high heat in a pan coated with butter or olive oil. Basically, cook them the same way as you cook pancakes, and they’re done when there’s no liquid in the center. 

Leave a Reply

